Follow by Email

Tuesday, March 10, 2020

Ande/Vossenkuil/2020 CD Review

  Ande  is  a  solo  project  from  Belgium  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  on  this  recording  plays  a  very  raw  and  atmospheric  form  of  post  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  his  self released  2020  album  "Vossenkuil"  which  will  be  released  in  April.

  A  synth  orientated  intro  starts  off  the  album  before  going  into  a  heavier  direction  while  the  faster  sections  of  the  music  also  add  in  a  great  amount  of  tremolo  picking  and  blast  beats  which  also  gives  the  songs  more  of  a  raw  feeling  while  the  vocals  are  mostly  grim  sounding  black  metal  screams.

  Some  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  while  the  songs  also  add  in  a  decent  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts.  Atmospheric  elements  are  also  mixed  in  with  the  heavier  sections  of  the  music  at  times  along  with  the  synths  also  making  a  return  on  some  of  the  later  tracks.

  When  guitar  solos  and  leads  are  utilized  they  are  also  done  in  a  very  melodic  style  along  with  one  track  also  introducing  spoken  word  parts  onto  the  recording.  The  riffs  also  bring  in  a  good  amount  of  melody  as  well  as  one  track  also  introducing  clean  playing  and  clear  singing  onto  the  recording.

 You  can  also  hear  some  influences  of  folk  and  post  black  metal  as  the  album  progresses  as  well  as  a  later  song  being  a  cover  of  Lugrubrum's  "Mjin  Koninkrijk  Van  Groen"  and  the  recording  also  closes  with  an  instrumental.  The  production  sounds  very  raw  and  heavy  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  the  songwriters  native  tongue  and  covers  nature  and  misanthropy  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Ande  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  raw  and  atmospheric  post  black  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Nachtwandeling"  "De  Hutten"  and  "Sneeuw  Op  Het  Meer".  8  out  of  10.


No comments:

Post a Comment