Follow by Email

Thursday, April 1, 2021

Utburd/Story Of Frozen Souls/Grimm Distribution/More Hate Productions/2021 CD Review


  Utburd  are  a  solo  project  from  Russia  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  a  very  atmospheric  and  depressive  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2021  album  "Story  Of  Frozen  Souls"  which  will  be  released  on  April  10th  as  a  joint  effort  between  Grimm  Distribution  and  More  Hate  Productions.  

  Keyboards  and  female  vocals  start  off  the  album  while  also  introducing  clean  playing  onto  the  album  before  going  into  a  heavier  direction.  At  times  the  music  also  gets  very  atmospheric  sounding  while  dark  soundscapes  can  also  be  heard  in  some  parts  of  the  recording  and  spoken  word  parts  can  also  be  heard  on  some  of  the  songs.

  Melodies  are  also  added  into  some  parts  of  the  recording  while  the  vocals  are  mostly  grim  yet  depressive  sounding  sounding  black  metal  screams.  The  guitar  solos  and  leads  are  also  done  in  a  very  dark  yet  melodic  style  along  with  some  of  the  tracks  also  being  very  long  and  epic  in  length.

  One  of  the  songs  also  introduces  clean  vocals  onto  the  album  along  with  some  blast  beats  and  tremolo  picking  being  added  into  the  faster  sections  of  the  music  which  also  gives  the  recording  more  of  a  raw  feeling  as  well  as  some  acoustic  guitars  also  being  utilized  briefly  on  a  couple  of  songs,  female  vocals  are  also  added  on  the  closing  track.  The  production  sounds  very  dark  and  raw  while  the  lyrics  are  inspired  by  the  writings  of  H.P  Lovecraft.  and  Mythology  and  also  adding  in  a  depressive  touch..

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  album  from  Utburd  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  atmospheric  and  depressive  black  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  recording.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Ice  Cerberus"  "The  Tentacles  Of  Winter"  and  "Impenetrable  Sadness".  8  out  of  10.


No comments:

Post a Comment