Monday, April 24, 2017

The Noctambalant/Advocatus Diaboli/Domestic Genocide Records/2016 CD Review

  The  Noctambulant  are  a  band  from  Florida  that  plays  a  very  raw  and  melodic  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of t heir  2016  album  "Advocatus  Diaboli"  which  was  released  by  Domestic  Genocide  Records.

  A  very  heavy  sound along  with  melodic  guitar  leads  start  off  the  album  as  well  as  all  of  the  musical  instruments  sounding  very  powerful  while  the  vocals  bring  in a   mixture  of  death  metal  growls  and  black  metal  screams  and  when  the  music  speeds  up  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  can  be  heard.

  Melodies  can  be  heard  quite  a  bit  coming  out of  the  guitar  riffing  while  the  tremolo  picking  gives  the  songs  a  more  raw  feeling  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  one  song  also  adds  in a  brief  use of  bells  while  a  later  song  also  uses  a  small  amount of  laughs  and  spoken  word  parts.

  Most  of  the  music  is  also  very  heavily  rooted  in  the  90's  and  as  the  album  progresses  a  brief  use  of  clean  singing  can  be  heard  and  a  later  track  is  very  long  and  epic  in  length  and  one  song  also  has  an  avant  garde  feeling  before  getting  a  lot  more  heavier  and  almost  towards  the  end  a  brief  use  of  rain  sounds  and  pianos  can be  heard  and acoustic  guitars  are  used  on t he  closing  track  briefly.

  The  Noctambulant  plays  a  style  of  black  metal  that  is  very  raw  and  melodic  in  the  90's  Swedish  tradition  while  also  mixing  in  elements of  death  metal,  the  production  sounds  very  powerful  while  the  lyrics  cover  Occultism  and  Death  themes.

  In  my  opinion  The  Noctambulant  are  a  very  great  sounding  raw  and  melodic  black  metal  band  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Legion"  "Creeping  Dead"  "Evil  Calling"  "Blood  For  Life"  and  "Winter's  Hell  Dominion".  8  out  of  10.

No comments:

Post a Comment