Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Abomnium/A Hollow Path/UKEM Records/2017 CD Review

  Abomnium  are  a  solo  project  from  the  Netherlands  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  an  atmospheric  form  of  black  metal  with  some  death  and  thrash  metal  touches  and  this  is  a  review  of  his  2017  album  "A  Hollow  Path"  which  will  be  released  on  April  28th  by  UKEM  Records.

  Movie  samples  along  with  some  heavy  yet  melodic  riffing  starts  off  the  album  and  the  solos  and  leads  also  use  a  great  amount  of  melody  and  after  awhile  grim  black  metal  screams  start  to  make  their  presence  known  and  when  the  music  speeds  up  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  can  be  heard.

  During  the  faster  sections  of  the  songs  a  great  amount  of  tremolo  picking  can  be  heard  which  also  gives  the  music  a  more  raw  black  metal  feeling  along  with  all  of  the  musical  instruments  sounding  very  powerful  and  the  tracks  also  incorporate  a  great  amount  of  atmospheric  elements.

  Throughout  the  recording  you  can  hear  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  clean  guitars  can  also  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  and  later  tracks  also  mix  in  influences  from  both  death  and  thrash  metal  and  a  couple  of  the  tracks  are  long  and  epic  in  length  and  melodic  singing  is  also  added  onto  one  of  the  tracks  briefly.

  Abomnium  creates  another  recording  that  sticks  to  the  modern  style  of  black  metal  from  his  previous  release  while  still  mixing  in  elements  of  death  and  thrash  metal,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  science  fiction,  mind  control  and  religion  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Abomnium  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  black  metal  with  some  touches  of  death  and  thrash  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "The  Lies  That  Bind"  "The  Furious  Engines  Of  Heaven"  and  "A  Hollow  Path".  8  out  of  10.

No comments:

Post a Comment