Follow by Email

Friday, November 2, 2018

Evilfeast/Mysteries Of The Nocturnal Forest/Eisenwald/2018 CD Re-Issue Review

  Evilfeast  is  a  solo  project  from  Poland  that  has  had  an  album  reviewed  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  an  atmospheric  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2004  album  "Mysteries  Of  The  Nocturnal  Forest"  which  will  be  re-issued  on  November  30th  by  Eisenwald.

  A  very  dark  sounding  intro  starts  off the  album  along  with  some  haunting  and  eerie  synths  which  also  mixes  into  the  heavier  sections  of  the  music  while  the  vocals  are  mostly  grim  black  metal  screams  along  with  the  tremolo  picking  giving  the  songs  more  of  a  raw  feeling  and  most  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length.

  Clean  guitars  can  also  be  heard  quite  a  bit  throughout  the  recording  while  spoken  word  parts  can  also b e  heard  briefly  and  also  gives  the  music  more  of  a  poetic  atmosphere  along  with  the  faster  sections  of  the  songs  also  bringing  in  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  as  well  as  the  riffs  also  adding  in  a  decent  amount  of  dark  sounding  melodies.

  Throughout t he  recording  you  can  also  hear  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  while  the  music  is  very  heavily  rooted  in  the  90's  along  with  one  of  the  tracks  bring  all  instrumental  and  at  times  the  songs  also  add  in  a lo-fi  and  ethereal  atmosphere  as  well  as  the  synths  also  giving  the  music  more  of  an  epic  feeling.

  On  this  recording  Evilfeast  played  a  style  of  black  metal  that  was  very  raw,  atmospheric  and  epic  sounding,  the  production  sounds  very  dark  and  raw  while  the  lyrics  cover  darkness,  misanthropy  and  nature  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  was  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Evilfeast  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  atmospheric  or  synth  orientated  black  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  re-issue.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Immerse  Into  Cold  Mist"  "Descending  Winds  Of  Holocaust"  and  "Morbid  Rejoice".  8/5  out  of  10. 

No comments:

Post a Comment