Follow by Email

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Deadspace/The Promise Of Oblivion/2015 Full Length Review

  Deadspace  are  a  band  from Australia  that  plays  a  very  depressive  form  of  black  metal  with  elements  of  death  rock  and  ambient  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  self  released  2015  album  "The  Promise  Of  Oblivion".

  Ambient  style  keyboards  start  off  the  album  and  they  also  mix  in  with  the  depressive  black  metal  sound  that  kicks  in  a  few  seconds  alter  that  also  brings  in  a  great  amount  of  tortured  screams  and  when  they  use  solos  and  leads  they  remain  true  to  a  melodic  musical  direction  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them.

  Elements  of  goth  and  death  rock  can  be  heard  quite  a  bit  throughout recording  and  the  music  can  also  be  very  atmospheric  at  times  and  also  bring in  a  touch  of  post  black  metal  along  with  a  small  amount  of  clean  playing  being  added  into  certain  sections  of  the  recording  and  some  songs  also  bring  in  a  small  amount  of  spoken  word  part.

   You  can  also  hear  a  great  amount  of  melody  being  added  into  the  guitar  riffing  as  the  album  progresses  and  the  whole  recording  sticks  to  mostly  a  slow  or  mid  paced  musical  direction  and  on  some  songs  the  vocals  almost  get  melodic  and  there  are  also  a  couple  of  tracks  that  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length.  

  Deadspace  plays  a  style of  depressive  black metal  that  is  very  depressive,  atmospheric and  melodic  sounding  while  also  mixing  in  elements  of  ambient,  post  metal,  goth  and  death  rock,  the  production  sounds  very  dark  and  heavy  while  the  lyrics  cover  dark,  depressive  and  suicidal  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Deadspace  are  a  very  great  sounding  depressive  black  metal  band  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "With  Tears  of  Callous  Lust"  "Oblivion"  and  "In  The  Coldness  Of  the  Darkest  Night".  8  out  of  10.



No comments:

Post a Comment