Follow by Email

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Havukruunu/Rautaa ja Tulu/Naturmacht Productions/2016 EP Re-Issue Review

  Havukruunu  are  a  duo  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  a  pagan  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2015  ep  "Rautaa  ja  Tulu"  which  will  be  re-issued  in  April  by  Naturmacht  Productions  with  4  bonus  tracks.

  A  very  dark,  heavy  and  raw  sound  starts  off  the  album  and when  the  music  speeds  up  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  can  be  heard  and  the  vocals  are  mostly  grim  yet  high  pitched  black  metal  screams  and  you  can  also  hear  a  decent  amount  of  melody  in  the  guitar  riffing  while t he  faster  riffing  uses  a  great  amount  of  tremolo  picking.

  When  solos  and  leads  are  utilized  they  are  done  in  a  very  melodic  direction  and  the  clean  singing  gives  the  music  more  of  a  pagan  metal  feeling  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  some  songs  bring  in  traditional  metal  elements  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them  and  as  the  album  progresses  classical  guitars  can  be  heard  briefly  along  with  a  short  instrumental  track  before  going  into  the  bonus  songs  which  are  in  more  of  a  black  metal  direction  while t he  last  track  is  more  of  a  pagan  folk  song.

  Havukruunu  displays  an  early  take  on  their  pagan/black  metal  sound  with  the  beginning  tracks  while  the  newer  songs  bring  in  more  of  a  raw  side  of  the  genre,  the  production  sounds  very  raw  yet  powerful  at  the  same  time  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  Finnish  and  cover  darkness,  winter,  loneliness,  sadness  and  the  Paganism  of  their  home  country.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another great  sounding  recording from  Havukruunu  and  if  you  are  a fan  of  pagan  and  black  metal,  you  should  enjoy  this  re-issue.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Pakanen"  "Ne  Salaperaiset"  "Verta  Ja  Tuhkaa"  and  "Joka  Puun  Taaka".  8  out  of  10.



No comments:

Post a Comment