Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Empty/Vacio/Osmose Productions/2018 CD Review

  Empty  are  a  band  from  Spain  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  a  depressive  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2018  album  "Vacio"  which  will  be  released  in September  by  Osmose  Productions.

  Atmospheric  sounding  synths  start  off  the  album  while  spoken  word  parts  can  also  be  heard  briefly  before  going  into  a  very  fast  and  raw  musical  direction  which  also  uses  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  and  tremolo  picking  along  with  the  vocals  bring  mostly  grim  black  metal  screams.

  Throughout  the  recording  you  can  also  hear  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  while  whispered  vocals  can  also  be  heard  at  times  along  with  the  solos  and  leads  being  done  in  a  very  raw  and  melodic  style  as  well  as  all  of  the  musical  instruments  having  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them.

  Clean  playing  can  also  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  while  the  music  also  mixes  in  a  great  amount  of  depressive  elements  along  with  some  melodic  singing  and  growls  also  being  added  into  certain  sections  of  the  recording  and  stringed  instruments  can  also  be  heard  briefly  and  a  couple  of  tracks  also  introduces  acoustic  guitars  onto  the  recording  and  a  couple  of  the  songs  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length.

  On  this  recording  Empty  takes  the  depressive,  atmospheric  and  raw  sides  of  black  metal  and  mixes  them  together  while  also  showing  a  great  amount  of  progress  as  musicians,  the  production  sounds  very  dark  and  raw  while  the  lyrics  cover  emptiness,  despair,  solitude  and  negativity  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Empty  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  depressive  black  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Empty"  "The  Night  Remains  For  All  Who  Is"  and  "Filandom  Under  The  Sign  Of  Misfortune".  8  out  of  10.


No comments:

Post a Comment