Follow by Email

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Sulferon/Portals To Hell/Celtic Fog Promotions/2016 CD Review

  This  is  a  review  of  another  recording  from  Greece's  Sulferon  which  also  continues  the  raw  and  satanic  style  of  occult  black  metal  from  their  previous  releases  with the  album  "Portals  To  Hell"  which  was  released  by  Celtic  Fog  Promotions.

  Epic  sounding  synths  start  off  the  album  along  with  soem  drum  beats  before  going  into  a  heavier  musical  direction  and  spoken  word  parts  are  also  heard  briefly  and  after  the  intro  the  music  goes  into  a  very  fast  and  raw  musical  direction  that  also  uses  a  great  amount  of  tremolo  picking  and  blast  beats.

  Vocals  are  mostly  high  pitched  black  metal  screams  and  the  riffs  also  use  a  decent  amount  of  dark  sounding  melodies  and  you  can  also  hear  all  of  the  musical  instruments  that  are  present  on  the  recording  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  while  also  being  very  heavily  rooted  in  the  90's  second  wave  style  and  influences  of  death  metal  are  also  added  into  the  music  and  they also  bring  in  a  cover  of  Malevolent  Creation's  "Tasteful  Agony"  which  also  introduces  growls  onto  the  recording  and  the  last  track  is  long  and  epic  in  length  and  synths  also  make  a  return  briefly  later  on  during  the  recording.

  Sulferon  creates  another  recording  that  remains  true  to  the  raw  style  of  satanic  black  metal  from  their  previous  releases  while  also  adding  in  more  of  a  death  metal  influence  this  time  around,  the  production  sounds  very  raw  and  heavy  while  the  lyrics  cover  Satanism,  Occultism  and  Anti  Christian  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  from  Sulferon  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  satanic  black  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  side  of  the  recording.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Strangled  With  The  Entrails  Of  The  Last  Priest"  "The  Lord's  Creation  Erased"  "Hails,  Fire  And  Blood"  and  "Emblem  Of  God".  8  out  of  10. 


No comments:

Post a Comment