Follow by Email

Friday, March 30, 2018

Efferat/The Enlightenment/2015 Full Length Review

  This  is  a  review  of  another  recording  from  Efferat  which  continues  their  mixture  of  experimental,  post  rock  and  black  metal  and  the  album  was  self  released  in  2015  and  called  "The  Enlightenment".

  Ambient  style  soundscapes  and  filed  recordings  start  off  the  album  along  with  some  harsh  noises  being  used  in  the  background  briefly  while  the  music  also  gets  very  experimental  and  avant  garde  at  times  as  well  as  mixing  into  the  heavier  sections  of  the  songs  and  all  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length.

  When  vocals  are  used  briefly  they  give  the  music  more  of  a  distorted,  dark  and  ritualistic  atmosphere  while  the  music  also  adds  in  an  improv  touch  at  times  along  with  the  guitars  leads  bringing  in  elements  of  post  black  metal  and  when  tremolo  picking  is  utilized  it  gives  the  music  more  of  a  raw  feeling.

  All  of  the  musical  instruments  on  the  recording  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them  while  blast  beats  can  also  be  heard  when  the  music  speeds  up  and  when  keyboards  are  utilized  they  enhance  the  ambient  atmosphere  of  the  music  and  on  the  closing  track  didgeridoo's  are  added  into  the  music  and  they  give  the  song  more  of  a  shamanistic,  ethnic  and  indigenous  feeling  as  well  as  some  melodic  chants.

  Efferat  creates  another  recording  that  remains  true  to  their  experimental,  post  rock  and  black  metal  mixture  from  the  previous  release  reviewed  while  also  sounding  very  different  and  taking  their  sound  to  a  different  level  and  the  production  sounds  very  dark  and  raw.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Efferat  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  experimental,  post  rock  and  black  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Akui  Otaki  Falls"  and  "Bakusur".  8  out  of  10.

No comments:

Post a Comment