Follow by Email

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Mist Of Misery/Abscence/Black Lion Productions/2016 Full Length Review

  Mist  Of  Misery  are  a  band  from  Sweden  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  a  symphonic  form  of  depressive  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2016  album  "Absence"  which  was  released  by  Black  Lion  Productions.

  Thunder  sounds  and  symphonic  style  synths  start  off  the  album  which  also  gives  the  music  a  very atmospheric  feeling  and  after  the  intro  the  music  retains  its  symphonic  elements  while  also  going  into  a  heavier  direction  after  a  couple  of  minutes  along  with  some  high  pitched  depressive  black  metal  screams.

  When  the  music  speeds  up  it  brings  in  a  great  amount  of  tremolo  picking  and  blast  beats  which  in  return  gives  the  music  more  of  a  raw  black  metal  edge  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  clean  playing  along  with  classical  guitars  can  also  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording.

 All  of  the  musical  instruments  having  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them  and  when  solos  and  leads  are  utilized  they  are  done  in  more  of  a  melodic  fashion  and  some  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  while  a  couple  of  the  tracks  are  all  instrumental  and  the  synths  also  bring  in  touches  of  dark  ambient.

  Mist  Of  Misery  creates  another  recording  that  takes  a  depressive  style  of  black  metal  and  mixes  it  in  with  the  symphonic  elements  of  the  mid  90's  while  also  showing  more  progress  this  time  around,  the  production  sounds  very  powerful  while  the  lyrics  cover  depression  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  album  from  Mist  Of  Misery  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  symphonic  and  depressive  black  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  recording.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Euthanasia"  "Whistful  Twilight"  and  "Mist  Of  Misery".  8  out  of  10.

No comments:

Post a Comment