Follow by Email

Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Eternal Majesty/Black Metal Excommunion/Those Opposed Records/Mallevs Records/2020 CD Review


  Eternal  Majesty  are  a  band  from  France  that  plays  a  very  depressive  and  melodic  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2020  album  "Black  Metal  Excommunion"  which  will  be  released  in  November  as  a  joint  effort  between  Those  Opposed  and  Mallevs  Records.

  Atmospheric  sounding  synths  which  also  mixes  in  with  the  heavier  sections  of  the  music  start  off  the  album  while  clean  playing  and  Gregorian  chants  can  also  be  heard  briefly.  When  spoken  word  parts  are  utilized  they  also  give  the  music  more  of  a  ritualistic  feeling  and  all  of  the  musical instruments  also  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them.

  When  guitar  solos  and  leads  are  utilized  they  are  done  in  a  very  melodic  style  while  the  vocals  are  mostly  high  pitched  black  metal  screams.  The  riffs  also  add  in  a  decent  amount  of  melody  along  some  of  the  tracks  being  very  long  and  epic  in  length  as  well  as  the  music  also  having  its  depressive  moments.

  Shouting  style  vocals  are  also  added  on  a  couple of  songs  along  with  the  faster  sections  of  the  tracks  also  adding  in  a  decent  amount  of  blast  beats.  Throughout  the  recording  you  can  also  hear  a  decent  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  as  well  as  the  music  also  adding  in  some  90's  influences  at  times  and  the  album  also  closes  with  a  symphonic  soundign  instrumental.  The  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  French  and  cover  War,  Anti  Christianity,  Hate  and  Darkness  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Eternal  Majesty  are  a  very  great  sounding  atmospheric,  depressive  and  melodic  black  metal  band  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Excommunion"  and  "Aux  Portes  du  Temple  Noir    

No comments:

Post a Comment