Follow by Email

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Eastern Front/Empire/Cacaphonous Records/2016 CD Review

  Eastern  Front  are  a  band  from  The  United  Kingdom  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  a  very  raw  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review of  their 2016  album  "Empire"  which  will  be  released  on  September  30th  by  Cacophonous  Records.

  A  very  distorted  guitar  lead  starts  off  the  album  before  going into  a  heavier  direction  along  with  some  keyboards  being  added  onto  the  recording  as  well  as  some  grim  spoken  word  parts  which  also  evolve  into  high  pitched  black  metal  screams  along  with  the  music  going  into  a  very  fast  direction  along  with  some  blast  beats.

  Both  the  riffs  and  leads  use  a  great  amount  of  tremolo  picking  which  also  gives  the  music  more  of  a  raw  feeling  while  the  solos  also  have  their  melodic  moments  and  throughout  the  recording  you can  hear  a  great  mixture of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  spoken  words  are  also  added  onto  some  of  the  later  tracks  while  some  songs  also  bring  in  elements  of  thrash.

  Some  of  the  riffing  also  brings  in  a  small  amount  of  melody and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them and  a  couple  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  and  as  the  album  progresses  a  brief  use  of  clean  singing  vocals  can  be  heard  along  with  some acoustic  guitars  being  used  briefly.

  Eastern  Front  creates  another  recording  that remains  true  to  the  raw  and  aggressive  style  of  black  metal  from  previous  recordings  while  also  adding  in  newer  elements  into  their  musical  style,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  war  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Eastern  Front  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  band,  you  should  enjoy  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Veiled  By  Blood"  "Husks  Of  Kursk"  and  "Die  Reise  In  Den  Tod  Pt.  II".  8  out  of  10.

No comments:

Post a Comment