Follow by Email

Saturday, November 25, 2017

Malvento/Pneuma/Third I Rex/2017 CD Review

  Malvento  are  a  band  from  Italy  that  plays  an  occult  form  of  black  metal  with  elements  of  experimental,  psychedelic  and  doom  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of   their  2017  album  "Pneuma"  which  was  released  by  Third  I  Rex.

  A  very  atmospheric  and  ritualistic  sounding  intro starts  off  the  album  along  with  some  synths  and  whispers  while  also  introducing  experimental  elements  onto  the  recording  and  after  the  intro  keyboards  are  also  added  into  the  music  and  at  times  the  songs  bring  in  a  very  avant  garde  vibe.

  Once  the  music  gets  heavier  grim  black  metal  screams  are  added  onto  the  recording  along  with  a  small  amount  of  melodic  vocals  while  the  riffs  also  bring  in  a  decent  amount  of  dark  sounding  melodies  along  with  clean  playing  also  being  added  into  certain  sections  of  the  recording.

  A  lot  of  doom  metal  elements  can  be  heard  in  the  slower  riffing  while  the  music  also  mixes  in  a  great  amount  of  psychedelic  elements  along  with  a  lot  of  the  tracks  sounding  different  from  each  other  and  as  the  album  progresses  elements  of  industrial  are  also  added  into  the  music  briefly  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them.

  Malvento  plays  a  style  of  occult  black  metal  that  is  very  experimental  while  also  mixing  in  psychedelic,  industrial  and  doom  metal  elements  to  create  something  very  original,  the  production  sounds  very  dark  and  lo-fi  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  Italian  and  cover  Esoteric  and  Occultism  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Malvento  are  a  very  great  sounding  experimental  occult  black  metal group  with  elements  of  psychedelic  and  doom  metal  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  those  musical  genres,  you  should  check  out  this  band.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Notte"  "Vortex"  and  "Le  Danze".  8  out  of  10.  

No comments:

Post a Comment