Follow by Email

Saturday, May 30, 2015

Anti-Freeze/Aftermath/2014 Full Length Review

  Anti-Freeze  are  a  solo  project  from  Canada  that  plays  a  very  raw  and  atmospheric  form  of  anarchist  post  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  his  self  released  2014  album  "Aftermath".

  A  very  dark,  melodic  and  raw  atmospheric  black  metal  sound  starts  off  the  album  along  with  soem  grim  and  high  pitched  screams  a  few  seconds  alter  that  leads  to  the  music  speeding up  a  bit  and  also  introducing  blast  beats  onto  the  recording  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts.

  When  solos  and  leads  are  utilized  they  bring  more  of  an  epic  and  melodic  feeling  to  the  songs  and  a  couple  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  and  also  mixes  in  the  more  modern  post  black  metal  sound  with  the  90's  atmosphere  and  a  small  amount  of  clean  singing  can  be  heard  at  times.

   When  synths  are  brought  into  the  music  they  add  elements  of  dark  ambient  into the  music  and  some  of  the  tracks  also  bring  in  a  small  amount  of  acoustic  guitars  which  also  gives  the  music  more  of  a  progressive  feeling  and  some  of  the  more  fast  material  adds  in  a  touch  of  punk  to  the  raw  style  of  black  metal and  the  album  closes  with  a  bonus  instrumental  ambient  track. 

  Anti-Freeze  plays  a  musical  style  that  is  rooted  in  the  90's  style  of  raw  black  metal  but  also  adds  in  some  of  the  more  modern  and  atmospheric  post  black  metal  and  a  touch  of  ambient  and  punk  to  create  his  own  sound,  the  production  sounds  very  dark,  sloppy  and  raw  while  the  lyrics  cover  depression,  hate  and  revolution.

  In  my  opinion  Anti-Freeze  are  a  very  great  sounding  raw  and  atmospheric  post  black  metal  project  and  if  you are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "The  Kingdom"  and  "Internal  Filth  (Fuck  You)".  8  out  of  10.

No comments:

Post a Comment