Follow by Email

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Korgunthurus/Vuohen Siunaus/Woodcut Records/2016 CD Review

  Korgonthurus  are  a  band  from  Finland  that  plays  a  satanic  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2016  album  "Vuohen  Siunaus"  which  was  released  by  Woodcut  Records.

  A  very  distorted  sound  starts  off  the  album  before  going  into  a  very  fast  and  raw  black  metal  direction t hat  uses  a  great  amount  of  blast  beats  and  tremolo  picking  along  with  some  high  pitched  screams  while  you  can  also  hear  a  great  amount  of  morbid  sounding  melodies  throughout t he  recording  and  the  solos  and  leads  are  done  in  a  very  chaotic  fashion.

  Throughout  the  recording  you  can  hear  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  death  metal  growls  can  also  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  along  with  that  genre  also  being  an  influence  on  some  of  the  riffing  and  the  guitar  leads  also  bring  in a   decent  amount  of  melody  at  times  while  the  music  builds  mostly  on  a  Finnish  black  metal  style  and  some  of  the  tracks  are  very long  and  epic  in  length  and  a  couple  of  tracks  also  shows  a  small amount  of  acoustic  guitars  being  mixed  in  with  some  of  the  heavy  riffing  and  on  some  songs  the  screams  bring  in  more  of  a  depressive  tone.

  Korgonthurus  plays  a  style  of  black  metal  that  is  very  true  to  the  raw  Finnish  tradition  of  the  genre  while  also  standing  out  a  little  bit  by  mixing  in  death  metal  influences  on  some  of  the  tracks,  the  production  sounds  very  raw  yet  heavy  at  the  same  time  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  Finnish  and  cover  Satanism  and  Occultism  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Korgonthurus  are  a  very  great  sounding  raw  satanic  black  metal  band  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Kaaos"  "Inho"  and  "L.U.X".  8  out  of  10.


No comments:

Post a Comment