Follow by Email

Wednesday, August 19, 2020

MRTVI/Omniscient Hallucinatory Delusion/Transcending Obscurity Records/202 CD Review

  United  Kingdom/Serbia;'s  solo  project  have  returned  with  a  new  recording  which  shows  the  music  going  for  more  of  an  experimental  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  his  2020 album  "Omniscient  Hallucinatory  Delusion"  which  will be  released  in  November  by  Transcending  Obscurity  Records.

  A  very  dark  and  heavy  sound  starts  off  the  album  while  clean  playing  can  also  be  heard  in  some  parts  of  the  recording.  At  times  the  music  also  gets  very  avant  garde  and  experimental  sounding  as  well  as  the  solos  and  leads  also  being  done  in  a  very  melodic  yet  dissonant  style.

  Vocals  are  mostly  grim  sounding  black  metal  screams  while  the  faster  sections  of  the  songs  also  add  in  a  decent  amount  of  blast  beats.  A  couple  of  the  tracks  are  also  very  long  and  epic  in  length  along  with  the  faster  sections  of  the  tracks  also  adding  in  a  decent  amount  of  tremolo  picking  which  also  gives  the  music  more  of  a  raw  feeling.

  Throughout  the  recording  you  can  also hear  a  decent  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  along  with  some  tracks  also  adding  in  a  small  amount  of  clean  playing  as  well a s  one  of  the  songs  also  being  an  instrumental,  touches  of  noise  and  ambient  can  also  be  heard  in  some  parts  of  the music.

  Some  tracks  also  add  in  a  small  amount  of  spoken  word  parts  and  as  the  album  progresses  a  small  amount  of  demonic  growls ,  clean  singing and  melodic  chants  can  also  be  heard.  The  production  sounds  very  dark  and  raw  while  the  lyrics  cover  urban  darkness,  alienation,  rot  and  horror  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  MRTVI  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  experimental  black  metal,  you  should check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Mass  Hallucination"  "Exercise  In  Mistakes"  "Terminal Ignorance"  and  "Obscured  Liberality".  8 out  of  10.

Official Video Stream #1

Official Video Stream #2

Official Bandcamp

MRTVI Facebook
Official Label YouTube Channel

No comments:

Post a Comment