Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Eisregen/Marschmusick/Massacre Records/2015 CD Review

  Eisregen  have  returned  with  a  new  album  continuing  the  atmospheric  style  of  dark/black  metal  of  previous recordings  and  this  is  a  review  of  their 2015  album  "Marschmusick"  which  was  released by Massacre  Records.

  Air raid  sirens and  heavy  guitars  start  off  the  album  along  with  some  black  metal  screams  a  few  seconds  later and  a  few  seconds  later  melodic  riffing makes its  presence  known  on  the  recording  and  the  solos  and  leads  also  use  a  great  amount  of  melody  while  the  vocals  have  more  of  a  grim  approach  to  the  genre.

  Symphonic  elements  can  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  and  when  the  music  speeds  up  blast  beats  are  utilized  and  it  also  gives  the recording  more  of  a  raw  black  metal  feeling and  on  later  tracks  clean  singing  can  be heard  in  some  parts  of  the  songs  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them.  

  Throughout  the recording  there  is  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  some  of  the  tracks  are  long  and  epic  in  length  and  some  of  the  riffs  and  vocals  also  bring  in  a  touch  of  death  metal  while  later tracks  also  bring  in  violins  along  with  some  elements  of  classical  music  while  later  one  of  the  later  tracks  brings  in  samples  of  war  and  a  later  track  also  brings  in  psychedelic  elements.

  Eisregen  creates  an  album  that  is  experimental  and  catchy  like  previous  recordings  while  also  having  more  of  a  raw  black  metal  style  this  time  around,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  German  and  cover  death,  gore,  cannibal,  necrophilia  and  murder  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Eisregen  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  band,  you  should  enjoy  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Marschmusick"  "Leichensack"  "Foltergeist"  and  "Pervertin  Pete".  8  out  of  10.


No comments:

Post a Comment