Saturday, February 4, 2017

Woe/Hope Attrition/Vendetta Records/2017 CD Review

  Woe  are  a  band  from  New York  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays a very  dark  form  of  black  metal  on  this  recording  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2017  album  "Hope  Attrition"  which  will  be  released  in  March  by  Vendetta  Records.

  A  very  dark,  raw  and  melodic  sound  starts  off  the  album  along  with  some  drum  beats  a  few  seconds  later  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  sound  very  powerful  while  you  can  also  hear  a  lot  of  melody  in  the  guitar  leads  and  when  the  music  speeds  up  a  great  amount  of  tremolo  picking  and  blast  beats  can  be  heard.

  Most  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  while  the  vocals  are  mostly  deep  yet  grim  black  metal  screams  that  also  get  very  high  pitched  at  times  along  with  the  tracks  also  bringing  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  when  guitar  leads  are  utilized  they  are  done  in  a  very  atmospheric  yet  melodic  style  and  influences  of  death  metal  are  also  added  into  some  parts  of  the  recording  and  there  is  also  a  brief  acoustic  instrumental  before  returning  back  to  a  heavier  direction while  clean  guitars  are  also  used  briefly  on  a  later  track  and  there  is  also  a  brief  use  of  melodic  vocals.

  On  this  recording  woe  plays  a  style  of  black  metal  that  is  very  dark  and  raw  while  also  being  a  little  bit  more  modern  and  adding  in  death  metal  influences,  the  production  sounds  very  raw  yet  powerful  at  the  same  time  while  the  lyrics cover  loss,  frustration,  compulsion  and  Existentialism  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  album  from  Woe  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  black  metal  that  is  modern  yet  raw  and  aggressive  sounding,  you  should  check  out  this  recording.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "No  Blood  Has  Honor"  "The  Ones  We  Lost"  and  "Abject  In  Defeat".  8  out  of  10.  

No comments:

Post a Comment