Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Begrime Exemious/The Enslavement Conquest/Dark Descent Records/2016 CD Review

  Begrime  Exemious  are  a  band  from  Alberta,  Canada  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  a  bestial  mixture  of  black  and  death  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2016  album  "The  Enslavement  Conquest"  which  will  be  released  in  March  by  Dark  Descent  Records.

  A  very  dark,  raw  and  melodic  old  school  death  metal  sound  starts  off  the  album  giving  the  music  more  of  an  early  90's  feeling  and  after  a  fw  seconds  high  pitched  black  metal  screams  and  eleemnts  of  war  metal  are  added  into  the  music  and  when  the  songs  speed  up  a   great  amount  of  blast  beats  can  be  heard.

  Death  metal  growls  can  be  heard  in  some  of  the  songs  while  a  great  amount  of  the  riffs  seem  to  be  heavily  influences  by  thrash  while t he  slower  sections  bring  in  a  touch  of  doom  metal  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  and  the  solos  and  leads  also  remain  true  to  an  old  school  black/death  metal  sound  and  as  the  album  progresses  the  riffs  get  more  catchy  and  also  add  in elements  of  groove  and  they  also  bring  in  a  cover  of  Incantation's  "Impending  Diabolical  Conquest"  while  the  whole album  also  remains  heavy  from  beginning  to  ending  of  the  recording.

  On  this  recording  Begrime  Exemious  retain  some  of  the  war,  black  and  death  metal  of  previous  releases  while  expanding  more  on  melody  and  thrash  elements  this  time  around  to  create  some  very  old  school  sounding  metal,  the  production  sounds  very  raw  yet  heavy  while  the  lyrics  cover  nihilism,  Satanism,  war  and  horror  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  another  great  sounding  recording  from  Begrime  Exemious  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  black,  death  and  thrash  metal,  you  should  enjoy  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE "Overpowered  (Under  Siege)"  "Conscription  Woes"  "Noose  For  A  Monarch"  and  "When  the  Vultures  Leave".  8  out  of  10.


No comments:

Post a Comment