Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Frostbite/Etching Obscurity/Tmina Records/2016 CD Review

  Frostbite  are  a  band  from  Quebec,  Canada  that  plays  a  progressive  form  of  black'n'roll  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2016  album  "Etching  Obscurity"  which  will  be  released  in  February  by  Tmina  Records.

  Acoustic  guitar  playing  starts  off  the  album  giving  the  music  a  progressive  feeling  and  on  the  second  track  the  music  starts  getting  more  heavy  and  melodic  along  with  some  high  pitched  black  metal  screams  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  also  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them  and  the  guitar  leads  are  also  very  dark  and  also  use  a  great  amount  of  melody.

  Growls  can  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  and  when  the  music  speeds  up  a  small  amount  of  blast  beats  can  be  heard  and  the  songs  also  mix  in  a  great  amount  of  black'n'roll  elements  which  also  make  the  sounds  more  catchier  and  acoustic  guitars  so  make  their  return  in  some  of  the  later  songs.

  Most  of  the  songs  stick  to  a  mid  paced  direction  while  there  are  some  fast  parts  being  utilized  at  times  and  they  also  bring  in  a  brief  acoustic  instrumental  before making  a  return  back  to  vocals  on  later  tracks  as  well  as  bringing  in  a  brief  use  of  female  vocals,  whispers  and  violins  and  the  music also  brings  in  more  of  a  modern  black  metal  style.

  Frostbite  plays  a  style  of  black  metal t hat  is  very  catchy  and  modern  bringing  in  a  rock  music  feeling  while  some  songs  display  more  of  a  progressive  side,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  evil,  death,  turmoil,  society  and  enlightenment  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Frostbite  are  a  very  great  sounding  progressive  black'n'roll  band  and  if  you  are  a   fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  recording.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Sigil  Seal"  "Through  The  Grave"  and  "Forgotten  path".  8  out  of  10. 


No comments:

Post a Comment