Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Montes Insania/Song From Beyond A Gray Veil/Satanath Records/2013 CD Review

  Montes  Insania  are  an  international  duo  with  members  from  Russia  and  Ukraine  that  have  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  an  atmospheric  form  of  post  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2013  album  "Song  From  Behind  A  Gray  Veil"  which  was  released  by  Satanath  Records.

  A  very  fast,  raw  and  atmospheric  black  metal  sound  starts off  the  album  along  with  some  blast  beats  and  post  rock  style  screams  before  adding  in  grim  black  metal  screams  and  the  songs  start  bringing  in  a great mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  while  the  vocals  also  get  very  depressive  at  times.

  Clean  playing  can  be  heard  quite  a  bit  throughout  the  recording  and  the  solos  and  leads  are  very  dark,  melodic  and  depressive  sounding  and  some  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  and  you  can  also  hear  all  of  the  musical  instruments  that  are  present  on  the  recording  and  some  songs  also  bring  in  a  touch  of  shoegaze  while  the  music  also  adds  in  a  progressive  feeling  as  the  album  progresses  and  one  track  also  brings  in  a  brief  use  of  clean  singing  and  they  also  bring  in  a  cover  of  M.  Tarivederdiev's  "Le  Petit  Prince"  that  also  includes  female  vocals  before  closing  the  album  with  one  of  their  originals.

  Monte  Insania  played  a  style  of  black  metal  on  this  recording  that  is  atmospheric and  also  mixes  in  a  great  amount  of  post  rock  elements  which  also  makes  the  music  stand  out  a  bit  more,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  cover  dark  and  depressive  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  is  a  very  great  sounding  album  from  Monte  Insania  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  post  black  metal,  you  should  check  out  this  recording.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Birds  Of  Silence  And  Glass"  "Blood  Stairs"  "Of  Last  Spring"  and  "End  Of  Me".  8  out  of  10. 


No comments:

Post a Comment