Thursday, March 30, 2017

Midnight Odyssey/Silhouettes Of Stars/I, Voidhanger Records/2017 Double COmpilation Album Review

  Midnight Odyssey  are  a  solo  project  from  Australia  that  plays  a cosmic  and  ambient  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  his  2017  double  compilation  album  "Silhouettes  Of  Stars"  which  will  be  released  in  May  by  I,  Voidhanger  Records.

  Ambient  style  synths  start  off  the  album and  also  gives  the  songs  an  epic  atmosphere  and  they  also  mix  in  with  the  heavier  material  which  also  uses  a  great  amount  of  grim  black  metal  screams  and  melodic  chants/singing  can  also  be  heard  in  some  parts  of  the  recording  and  blast  beats  can  also  be  heard  at  times.

  A  great  portion  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  while  the  solos  and  leads  are  done  in  a  very  melodic  fashion  along  with  riffs  also  using  a  great  amount  of  melody  and  clean  playing  is  also  used  in  certain  sections  of  the  compilation.

  One  of  the  tracks  is  a  cover  of  Emperor's  "Cosmic  Keys  To  My Creations  And  Times"  which  also  introduces  spoken  word  parts  onto  the  compilation  and  the  synths  also  mix  in  a  variety  of  many  different  sounding  keys  on  some  of  the  later  songs  and  acoustic  guitars  are  also  used  on  some  of  the  tracks  and  one  song  is  an  instrumental  ambient  piece. 

  Midnight  Odyssey plays  a  musical  style  that  mixes  atmospheric  black  metal  with  ambient  to  create  a  sound  of  his  own,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while the  lyrics  cover  nature,  space,  death  and  misanthropy  themes.

  In  my  opinion  Midnight  Odyssey  are  a  very  great  sounding  cosmic  black  metal  solo  project  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  compilation.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Magica"  "Fighting  The  Seraphim"  "Nocturnal"  and  "A  Whisper's  Emptiness".  8  out  of  10.  

No comments:

Post a Comment