Thursday, March 23, 2017

Oranssi Pazuzu/Muukalainen Puhuu/20 Buck Spin/2017 CD Re-Issue Review

  Oranssi  Pazuzu  are  a  band  from  Finland  that  has  been  featured  before  in  this  zine  and  plays  a  psychedelic  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2009  album  "Muukalainen  Puhuu"  which  will  be  re-issued  in  May  by  20  Buck  Spin.

  Psychedelic  sounds  along  with  synths  start  off  the  album  and  they  also  mix  in  with  the  heavier  sections  of  the  songs  along  with  the  solos  and  leads  bringing  in a   very  melodic  and  atmospheric  style  while  the  vocals  are  mostly  grim  black  metal  screams  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them.

  Slide  guitars  can  be  heard  in  certain  sections  of  the  recording  while  the  riffs  also  bring  in  a  decent  amount  of  melody  and  when  the  music  speeds  up a   great  amount  of  tremolo  picking  and  blast  beats  can  be  heard  which  also  gives  the  songs  more  of  a  raw  feeling  and some  tracks  also  bring  in  a  small  amount  of  acoustic  guitars.

  Throughout  the  recording  you  can  hear  a  great  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  along  with  some  of  the  tracks  being  very  long  and  epic  in  length  while  blast  beats  can  be  heard  during  some  of  the  faster  sections  of  the  music  and  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  great  amount  of  diversity  along  with  some 60's  influences.

  On  this  recording  Oranssi  Pazuzu  took  a  very  atmospheric style  of  black  metal  and  mixed  it  in  with  psychedelic  music  to  create  something  very  original  for  its  time,  the  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  Finnish  and  cover  cosmos  and  abstract  themes.

  In  my  opinion  this  was  a  very  great  sounding  recording  from  Oranssi  Pazuzu  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  psychedelic  black  metal,  you  should  check  out this  re-issue.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Korppi"  "Suuri  Paa  Taivaasta"  and  "Kerettilainen  Vuohi".  8 out  of  10.  

No comments:

Post a Comment