Monday, February 4, 2019

Enisum/Moth's Illusion/Avantgarde Music/2019 CD Review

  Enisum  are  a  band  from  Italy  that  plays  a  very  atmospheric  form  of  black  metal  and  this  is  a  review  of  their  2019   album  "Moth's  Illusion"  which  will  be  released  in  March  by  Avantgarde  Music.

  Nature  orientated  soundscapes  start  off  the  album  while  also  introducing  ambient  style  synths  onto  the  recording  which  also  mixes  in  with  the  heavier  sections  of  the  music  at  times.  The  songs  also  mix  the  heavy  and  atmospheric  parts  together  along  with  the  riffs  also  adding  in  a  great  amount  of  melody.

  Vocals  are  mostly  high  pitched  black  metal  screams  while  growls  are  also  utilized  at  times  along  with  some  clean  playing  also  being  added  into  certain  sections  of  the  recording.  All  of  the  musical  instruments  on  the  recording  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them  while  the  faster  sections  of  the  songs  also  add  in  a  decent  amount  of  blast  beats.

  Some  songs  also  add  in  a  small  amount  of  acoustic  guitars  while  the  tremolo  picking  riffs  when  they  are  utilized  also  gives  the  music  more  of  a  raw  feeling.  Some  tracks  also  bring  in  a  small  amount  of  clean  vocals  and  whispers  along  with  the  songs  also  adding  in  a  decent  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts.

  Some  of  the  tracks  are  very  long  and  epic  in  length  while  the  solos  and  leads  when  they  are  utilized  are  done  in  a  very  melodic  style.  As  the  album  progresses  elements  of  shoegaze  are  added  into  some  of  the  later  tracks,  on  the  closing  song  female  vocals  are  added  into  the  music.  The  production  sounds  very  professional  while  the lyrics  cover  Arpitania,  Nature  and  Existential  themes.

  In  my  opinion Enisum  are  a  very  great  sounding  atmospheric  black  metal  band  and  if  you  are  a  fan  of  this  musical  genre,  you  should  check  out  this  album.  RECOMMENDED  TRACKS  INCLUDE  "Anesthetized  Emotions" "Moth's  Illusion"  "Petrichor"  and  "Burned  valley".  8  out  of  10.



  1. This is released on a label, I dont offer illegal downloads, you can check bandcamp or youtube for a streaming link if they are available.